John Cole

1903=1975

The Doll’s House, Kensington Church Street

Ref: 1275

Signed l.l.: John Cole

Oil on canvas

41 by 51 cm., 16 by 20 in.

Exhibited: London, Royal Academy, 1941, no.203; London, Royal Society of British Artists, September 1954, no.209; Portsmouth Museum & Art Gallery, The Cole Family, Painters of the English Landscape, 1838-1975,1988 no.168

Literature: T.J.Barringer, The Cole Family: Painters of the English Landscape 1838-1975, Portsmouth City Museums 1988, pp.179-180 (no.168)

 

 

 

The quirky wooden shop at 27b Kensington Church Street stands in a small cul-de-sac off the main street and is still in use today. The builders George Jones & Son (whose name is discernable on the door to the right of the painting) operated from the yard next door well into the earlier part of the twenty first century.

 

 

£2,500Enquire

 

RECENT STOCK

Sir Stanley Spencer
Babies clinging to collars, possible idea for "The Creche Series"

Edward William Cooke
The Lighthouse at Europa Point, Gibraltar

Thomas Hosmer Shepherd
The Changing of the Guard

Joseph Edward Southall
Portrait of the Artist Playing Horse Music and Pursued by Police